trauma medicine and D.O.'s

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

stoic

"Time you enjoy wasting, was not wasted"
Lifetime Donor
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre-med student who is trying to figure out whether to go DO or MD. I like many of the ideas that are important to a DO education. The catch is that I really want to end up in trauma. I can't picture many of the principles taught to a DO (E.G. preventative medicine) being of regular use for an ER doc. What do you guys think?

Members don't see this ad.

Do you want to go into trauma surgery or emergency medicine? There's a difference between the two.

Believe it or not, allopathic schools teach lots of preventative medicine as well!
wink.gif
A large portion of your learning during medical school is not directly applicable to your future career. It is designed to give you a broad based fund of knowledge with exposure to the major fields during 3rd year and a taste of some of the lesser ones during 4th year electives. This fund of knowlege prepares you for residency, but most anyone will tell you they actually learned how to be a doctor and do their job during residency, not medical school. Besides, knowledge of preventative medicine is helpful in any field - perhaps a little talk about seatbelt use might go a long way in talking to persons involved in a minor MVA, for example.

I suspect you are wondering whether going DO will *hurt* our chances of getting into Trauma Surgery/ER. Some of the osteopathic students here can give better info than I about that, especially with regard to DO residencies.I do not know of a decided bias against DOs in allopathic residencies for the above; it may be that the more important determinants are your USMLEs, GPA, AOA, letters, etc.

Hope this helps.

Members don't see this ad :)
almost 45% of emergency physicians are DO's. Thats more than any other specialty,even FP.