Transferring Services when starting at USUHS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gas_Seal

Reaction score
Good Afternoon,
I have a question regarding switching service branches when starting medical school at USUHS.
I am currently a commissioned officer, and I am applying to USUHS this cycle. I am interested in pursuing the possibility of being sponsored by a different branch than the one Im currently serving in. The superior officer working with me to get my Letter of Approval is not certain that I will be granted permission to change to another service if I am offered a slot at USUHS. does anyone have experience with officers switching to another branch when they are offered a slot at USUHS? thanks for any advice or guidance you are able to provide.

Members don't see this ad.

I think this is possible, and if I remember right there were a few classmates back in the day who did cross services when they recommissioned as O-1s. But I have no idea what the requirements were or what that process was. It may be service specific.

Try reaching out to USUHS (maybe start with the student affairs office?), they should at least be able to point you to a contact.

Reactions: 1 user
Hello, I am a MS4 at USU. I have not seen anyone who switches the branch unless they marry another branch member. However, you can always ask the admission committee for any recent changes.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I think this is possible, and if I remember right there were a few classmates back in the day who did cross services when they recommissioned as O-1s. But I have no idea what the requirements were or what that process was. It may be service specific.

Try reaching out to USUHS (maybe start with the student affairs office?), they should at least be able to point you to a contact.