Transfer to UCLA, Berkeley, UCSD, or UC Davis?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EtherOne

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Help, I am a pre-med transfer student. I got accepted to all my schools, MCB for Berkeley, MIMG for UCLA, Microbiology for Davis, and Human Bio for UCSD.

I don't care too much about the weather. I was pretty much set for UC Davis, I love the small town and the environment, but now that I got in everywhere, I'm not sure what to do. I was also told I should try to change my major for UCLA if I do go there to physiological science, psychobiology, or neuro.

My biggest worry is GPA. I am a 4.0 student at my community college, but that is nothing compared to the academic rigor of some of these schools. I worry I won't do too well on my MCATs, since I've never been very good at standardized tests and I need a good GPA to make up for that. (I of course will be studying and taking prep courses for the MCATs to get the best score I can)

I'm worried if I go to Davis it won't look good on applications even if I have a better chance at being a stand out student than at Berkeley or UCLA.

(UCLA also offered me the least amount in Aid, I'd have to take out 15k in loans each year compared to less than 8k from the others)
Please help.

Members don't see this ad.

Cal. End of discussion. See you there!

To back up what I'm saying:
I've heard from people who went to both UC and CCC. But most of them said there was no big difference other than the fact that at CCC, professors are more caring and able to afford more time per student.
If you got A's in Physics, Gchem/Ochem, Bio... then you are amazing. 4.0 at CCC is enough to prepare you to survive at UC (even @ Cal). They told me that if I try to work hard, A isn't impossible.

Members don't see this ad :)
Just a question, but is academic rigor (ok I mean insanity) keeping you from Cal? Have you visited?