Transfer Student with Economics Major and other questions.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rooks

Pre-med
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm about to begin my first semester of community college and I decided to chose economics because it is a passion of mine and also because it's a useful degree on its own. I'm taking four classes this semester.

I've extremely motivated to start premed on the best foot possible.

Now with the questions:
1) The community college I am set to go to has an excellent reputation and can transfer me to some UCs and other colleges in California. After two years should I transfer to UC Davis? However, I have more local less-prestigious colleges. Does it really matter how well-known and popular the place is where I got my bachelors?

2)
a) I've heard that I should not be taking most of my prereqs at the cc level, because it will sound like I am trying to take the easy way out. However I'm doing this for financial reasons. So can I just take a few of them at the CC and take the more rigorous ones at the four-year institution? Which ones in your opinion are permissible to take?

b) If I choose not to take my prereqs at community college, will this not put a huge burden on my junior and senior years? Especially with the plan of taking the MCAT during junior year....

-----------

In addition, I want to ensure I will have strong extra-curriculars. I've brainstormed a tentative plan, and I would like to hear some feedback. But I also don't want to overburden myself and neglect my grades, which I know is really the backbone of my application.

Clinical volunteering: Visiting at a local hospice four hours a week.
Non-clinical volunteering: Big Brother Big Sister Program three hours a week; facilitating discussions to help non-native English speakers at the library two hours a week; volunteering at a rabbit rescue four hours every other week.