Transfer from DMD/DDS to MD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ULTRON

No Food And Drinks in Lab
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

If the first two years of DDS/DMD and MD are the same, is it possible to transfer from DMD/DDS program to MD program, by the end of the first or second year? Many schools offer both MD and DMD/DDS degrees.

I know this sounds crazy, but is this possible?

ULTRON

Members don't see this ad.

Are there any schools where the first two years are the same for DDS and MD? If that is true I think they are not getting a very good dental education. Are you asking this because you want to transfer to an MD program after getting accepted to a dental school? If so you shouldn't be applying to dental school.

in some canadian schools the first two years are combined. i'm going to mcgill and basically i'm studying medicine for the first 18 months. they do not allow transfer, however, from med to dent or dent to med. you have to reapply.

i agree with the above poster that if your heart is not in dent then get the h##l out. there's nothing that pisses me off more than the prospect of working with someone who's not passionate about dentistry.

if you're in canada, you may be interested in this article about MD's.

http://www.caribbeanmedicine.com/article9.htm

just to remind u again...dont go to dentistry unless you love the art and the $$. if u want to go to med school go to med school and stay out of the way of aspiring dentists.

sorry for the vehemence but these kind of people really irk me

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by dr_benj
Are there any schools where the first two years are the same for DDS and MD? If that is true I think they are not getting a very good dental education.

Why not? There are several schools where the courses are the same, and taken in conjunction with the medical students.