Took some prereqs years ago - is post bac right for me?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

iusesharpies

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated 1 year ago with BA in Studio Art and am now interested in finishing the premed reqs and pursuing MD. I am wondering if anyone can give me advice on whether or not to pursue a structured post bac or if I should complete the remaining prereqs at a CC. I have been researching Scripps post bac as a possibility as I live locally.

While in undergrad, I did take a few prereqs: A- Gen Chem+Lab, A Ochem 1 w/o lab, B+ Ochem 2 w/o lab, B Bio 1, B- Bio 1 Lab, A Calc 1. This ends up with Science GPA 3.43 and I have 3.79 overall. I have 1 yr research experience and 2+ years of volunteer/work/teaching exp throughout undergrad.

I believe my only remaining prereqs are 1 yr physics, biochem, calc 2, and ochem labs.

Can anyone suggest what would be the best option for me?

Members don't see this ad.

How old is years ago? I don't think you need a structured post bacc really. Also, calculus is not required. Schools are moving towards statistics more so.

Your GPA is good. If you finish these sciences with good GPA and do well on your MCAT, I don't honestly see why you'd need a structured post-bacc. But I will defer to the more knowledgeable...

How old is years ago? I don't think you need a structured post bacc really. Also, calculus is not required. Schools are moving towards statistics more so.

Your GPA is good. If you finish these sciences with good GPA and do well on your MCAT, I don't honestly see why you'd need a structured post-bacc. But I will defer to the more knowledgeable...

Thanks for the response. I didn't know that about calc, thanks for letting me know. I took the prereqs in Fall 2010 - Spring 2012.

Members don't see this ad :)