Too old to become a doctor ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Yharo

Reaction score
Hello SDN, I am 24 years old and I'm a junior in college I know what you are probably thinking why are you still in college? I actually graduated early from high school but made a few bad decisions and didn't go to college. I ended up becoming a medical assistant and got in debt for that. After working 3 years as a medical assistant I decided to go to college as a part time student since I was working full time and on call. Anyways I finally quit my job at 23 and decided to go full time to college. I had to quit because the college I'm attending is also in a different city. I am 84% done with my degree I'm working towards a B.A in biochemistry I would have done B.S but the school I got to does not offer that. I can't help but get stressed out about the future I have no research background I volunteered a bit I have only shadowed one doctor and I'm not even sure I want to be a doctor anymore. My GPA is great it's currently a 4.0 I thought I would have lost it at organic chemistry that has been my hardest A yet. Anyways I feel as if I'm too old I don't ever hear of anyone my age still in college, it is so hard to be in class with a bunch of students 4 years or more younger than I am ( only because I'm embarrassed for myself :/ )I dont know when I'll graduate to be honest I'm so tempted to drop out. I'm tired of school, I hate it. This is another reason why I'm not sure if I want to be a doctor the fact that I'm tired of school already how will endure medical school. I know I'm smart enough to do it but I lack all the motivation in the world. Can anyone relate to these feelings? Am I the only one who feels this way?

Members don't see this ad.

Yes and yes. I'm a traditional student but otherwise, I understand. Also, per AMCAS I believe, the average age of matriculation is 24, so you're right on time.