Too late for MS3 interested in IR?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nkg1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, MS3 here at a good school in the West with what I hear is a strong IR program, just stumbled upon IR pretty late - it's the last 3 months of 3rd year and I have NO experience whatsoever... I have research in other fields and presentations, however only honored Surgery and 250 step 1, from what I have read on here that is on the low end for IR. Am I too late in the game for this? My school offers an IR sub-i, so I could sign up, but trying to figure out if I should jump ship from my current plan if there's a high chance I won't get interviews or match. I am trying to be realistic and apologize if this comes across as stupid. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey all, MS3 here at a good school in the West with what I hear is a strong IR program, just stumbled upon IR pretty late - it's the last 3 months of 3rd year and I have NO experience whatsoever... I have research in other fields and presentations, however only honored Surgery and 250 step 1, from what I have read on here that is on the low end for IR. Am I too late in the game for this? My school offers an IR sub-i, so I could sign up, but trying to figure out if I should jump ship from my current plan if there's a high chance I won't get interviews or match. I am trying to be realistic and apologize if this comes across as stupid. Thanks!
You should be good. I know people that switched later than you with similar stats and did fine. Do a sub-I, probably an away, some research, and you should be fine.

Last edited:
There is an article on JVIR on the scores, aoa status, number of publications, etc. of matched applicants from the 2017 year in IR. Average step 1 of matched applicants was 245.

Reactions: 1 user