PhD/PsyD To Neuropsychologists: How much neuroscience do you learn in internship and postdoc?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fellwynd2

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I'm a current PhD student in clinical psychology who's interested in going into neuropsychology. I have a strong interest in neuroscience, to the point where I considered going into neurology or getting a neuroscience PhD instead; however my love of higher order cognition and behavioral neurology a la Oliver Sacks pushed me towards going into neuropsychology. In general I enjoy my coursework, however I find myself envious of the neuroscience education that people in other fields will get that I will not, as neuroscience is my true core interest. I've been told by my advisor that I will learn neuroscience topics in internship and postdoc, or that I can learn it independently, but I find myself dissatisfied by those answers. So how much neuroscience do you actually get to learn in internship and postdoc as opposed to now? Is it all very clinically based and not basic neuroscience at all? How can I satiate my neuroscience interest in a program that is not heavy on neuroscience? Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Several neuroscience classes, neurodissection course, and I was in a lab that did eeg and f/MRI work, so I got a good deal of it in grad school. If I were you I would seek out opportunities that are available in your area if possible. Internship and postdoc are not the places to get foundational knowledge bases.

Reactions: 1 user
Several neuroscience classes, neurodissection course, and I was in a lab that did eeg and f/MRI work, so I got a good deal of it in grad school. If I were you I would seek out opportunities that are available in your area if possible. Internship and postdoc are not the places to get foundational knowledge bases.