To Anyone Who Has Taken The Mcat

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mj1878

Water good...
10+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all--

I am home-studying for the MCAT and wondered if anyone else had done the same, and if you had any tips for me. Should I be concerned about knowing every possible reaction(gen chem, ochem) or be more familiar with the overarching concepts(limiting reagent, condensation rxns). Overall, how did you study, for how long, and what did you score? Any suggestions would be enormously helpful!!!

Marc

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Marc,

They have some pretty good tips in the MCAT forum. I would say know the concepts much more then the facts. The ocem part only consisted of one passage on the test I took and the questions weren't too in depth, the genchem part is also pretty basic.

I studied for about 2 months over the summer and took the test last august. I didn't take Kaplan but wish I had, I also used a book that wasn't very good and mostly studied my old notes. I wouldn't recommend studying this way though and would definitely take Kaplan or Princeton if I took it again. Also, they sell practice tests on the mcat website that are kind of expensive but would probably help a lot. I scored a 30O.

Also apply early even if you're taking the test in August, many schools send out secondaries before receiving your completed file.

Good luck

Just a note on Kaplan. They offer their "web only" based services. These web services are very comprehensive and have tons of tests of individual subjects and practice tests that you can take. You can enter the answers online and get feedback on your answers. The price of this is much lower than the classroom Kaplan course. If I were to do it over again, this would definately be the way that I would go.