Tired of reading that pharmacists "don't make much money"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PositivePharmD

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been reading the SDN forums for a while now and just felt compelled to create a thread concerning what I have been reading consistently in several threads- that is, the claim that "pharmacists don't make much money."

I graduated in 2011, work for a chain, and live in South Florida [Miami]. I am a 26 y/o guy and want to say that even though I owe $160,000, I have plenty of money to live a nice and comfortable lifestyle. I live in a high rise waterfront condominium with fitness center, pool, spa, and other amenities and pay nearly $1,800 per month for rent. I am also leasing a Lexus. The point here is that I am living very comfortably and within my means as a pharmacist.

I feel that the only reason those of you pharmacists on this forum make the claim that pharmacist pay is "not much" are saying this is because you are slaving yourself away to pay off a six figure debt. I read a post somewhere that one pharmacist is paying 2,500 per month and is worried and complaining that such a payment doesn't leave much room for more. Well, guess what? NO ONE is telling you, commanding you, or forcing you to pay off your hefty student loans in ten years. NO ONE. The only reason you guys are not seeing how much money you're truly making is because you have tied yourself in chains.