Timing: Graduation, MCAT, Gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted826437

Hey all, thanks in advance!

My Uni has an excess hours limit (132) and I have taken 110 of those already (Bio major, Chem minor, took some random international relations/French classes). I have 17 credits left to complete my major which sets me up to graduate this summer if I take a full course load (15 credits) this spring - Two semesters early for my projected Spring 2020 graduation. I plan on filling the time between undergrad and med school doing more research.

Here is the issue:

I have a job right now that I'm not interested in giving up (I get paid really well and It's good experience (I'm a medical case manager for underserved communities). I am also doing 10-15 hours/week in a lab on campus. If I keep up both of these commitments and take a full 15 credit course load I don't think I'll have time to give the MCAT the attention that I would like in order to prepare for a May test date. This would also mean that I could only take the test once to make the deadline (right?). Otherwise - I would have to essentially take two years off. Not ideal.

What if...

I took this spring off and just worked 20ish hours/wk, researched 15ish hours/wk, and studied for the MCAT, I could take the test at the beginning of the summer and have enough time to re-test if necessary. I would take a few classes over the summer then finish up the rest of my coursework in the Fall. In the spring I could do a research internship at a private research hospital nearby, then I'd graduate spring 2020. No time off, ample MCAT study time, extra money from working more hours, still get some fullish time research experience.

Thoughts? is it crazy to take a semester off during my coursework or is it reasonable?

Members don't see this ad.