Timeline Advice for a Nontrad?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LoKif26

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! Here is my deal:

I started college as per usual in 2013, although... I started at art college. I did two years there, transferred home for a year to do art at our state school, went back to the first art school this past fall for two more quarters, and then decided to transfer back home to my state school to switch to premed with a major in psych.

I've got some unique experiences as a previous film major, game design major, and then illustration major, and I've done almost all my gen ed requirements aside from bio/chem/math (not required for art), so I'm going in as a senior. I'm starting psych major in a 375 class so I'm not completely starting over there, but I'm going to take intro bio/chem/math before I start premeds because I haven't taken a science class since 2012. The intro bio and math I will be taking this summer, and chem in the fall.

So that's the rough outline of my academic life at this point. I'll be 23 later this year and if all goes well I'm hoping to graduate in 3 years in 2020. I'm beginning a two month training process next week to volunteer at a domestc violence shelter for women (including ER advocacy) and will be starting classes at the end of May.

Can yall give me some advice on how I should try to plan my timeline? I know it's common for students to take the MCAT as juniors and apply the summer before senior year, so I'm not sure when I should do either of those things, considering I'll be taking premeds right up until I graduate as I have no gen eds left to put off until senior year. I want to be adequately prepared for the MCAT obviously but don't want to get behind in the admissions process. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.