Three years post B.A. in Psychology. No research experience. Interested in pursuing a Doctorate's. Where to go from here?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NewGuy25

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am looking for advice on how to move forward.

I am 25 living in the greater San Francisco Bay Area, California.

During my time in undergrad at a UC, I never really considered pursuing graduate school. At the time, I 100% felt that I was destined for a career in Law Enforcement. Because of this, I did not participate in research and rather spent my time volunteering with campus organizations. I graduated from undergrad with a double major (Criminology and Psychology) and a 3.423 GPA (Unfortunately 3.118 in Psychology). After spending about a year and a half working for my family I went on to do some security work still thinking Law Enforcement was the goal. I eventually did a complete 180 and decided Law Enforcement definitely was not what I wanted. I am currently working at nonprofit in a case management position.

I reflected on my experiences so far and have decided I want to pursue graduate education in Psychology. I would like to eventually become either a clinical psychologist, working in a hospital setting or an organizational psychologist. I am just fascinated by the assessments and diagnoses used in order to develop plans to assist clients in reaching a specified goal (whether it be in a mental health setting or a business/company setting). Working with people to overcome obstacles and achieve these goals sounds worthwhile to me. I am willing to put up the 4-10 years necessary for schooling, internship, fellowship, licensing etc.