Thoughts on Chiropractors?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

seanjohn

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first time venturing to this specific forum, but I would just like to ask the future M.D's a question.

What are your thoughts on chiropractors and the chiropractic profession as a whole? Do you accept them? Do you think they're quacks? Do you think chiropractic education is equivalent to medical education?

I'm in my fourth year of university getting a bachelor of science degree, and I'm definately interested in pursuing a career in medicine, however, the reason I made this thread is because I once considered a career in chiropractic. I'd just like to read your thoughts and opinions about chiropractors, since you're the future physicians of our nation.

Thanks for reading.

Members don't see this ad.

they're ok for back stuff I guess.

I think they can be very dangerous. A lot of inconsistencies in the schools and philosophies taught. Some think spinal manipulation can heal everything.

A doctor I used to shadow told me a story about a little girl who was taken to see a chiropractor because he told her parents he could cure her asthma. She ended up in the ER.

I'd never see one personally or let a family member be seen by one.

For back problems that are entirely musculoskeletal in nature...chiros can do some good...but beyond that....their education is not the same as DO/MD.....that is not a bad thing...they are good for what they're good for...nothing more nothing less....everyone has a place in healthcare as long as they don't try to overstep their scope of practice.

If you are into the manual medicine aspect of healthcare and want the education of a Physician, you may want to consider one of the Osteopathic Medical Schools.

Members don't see this ad :)