Thinking about Podiatry, but worried about self abilites

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

harkkam

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Guys I am 24 years old and I am just graduating undergrad, took a few extra years because of maturity issues.

I am seriously considering applying to Pod school but the thought of 4 years schooling plus three years of residency is scaring me very much.

Its not so much the work, that I am worried about, but not knowing how much time I will have to dedicate per day to my studies.

I will be up front and honest that I enjoy my hobbies and free time very much and I love talking walks and driving around the city and seeing new places and things.

I am a average student with a GPA of 3.22 and sgpa of 3.32.

I also get very discouraged and down about life esp. when I had to study for Orgo in undergrad I ended up with a B+ both semesters. I see people outside living their life and I feel like I am a slave to my work and I just want to be free.

I am posting this here so that maybe some Pod Students can relate.

I read some posts about what the study schedules are like for POD students and it kind of goes like

0630 - wake up
0800 - class
1200 - end class
1:00 - lunch
1:30 - start study
8:30 - end study
8:45 - workout
9:30 - Dinner
10:00- Study
12:00 - sleep

Right now I have something like on an average which I call my study days.

10:00 am wake up
11:00 -eat breakfast
12:00 - watch tv/play guitar
3:00 - end relaxation
3:00 - start study
12:00 - end study (procrastinated study)
12:00- relax
2:00 - sleep

I dont know if I can handle the rigors of Pod school for four years and then followed by 80 hr/wk in residency.

I worked a 40/wk for a whole summer and I cant imagine working more than that for anything in life.