thinking about German medical school - don't know any German

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rico_suave

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so I am a native English speaker, non-US and non-EU citizen and thinking about studying medicine in Germany for next fall 2018. I have a Bachelors degree from a US university and finished 2 years of medical school in the US but had to withdraw due to personal and financial reasons.

Anyhoos I am totally new to the german language. literally only started duolingo a week ago but i am determined to SOMEHOW get up to C1 with medical terminology by the time i apply next year (am I crazy?). I heard that in order to take the language test one must show 1000 hours of study so i plan to possibly go to a language school in germany in a few weeks.

Ok, so i need some feedback. With my Bachelors (GPA 3.82) and some medical school would I be able to get in? would the incomplete med school be seen as a negative? and is it possible with intense intense study to get up to the fluency level i need for German medical school? and any tips for that.

thanks so much for any advice!!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

C1 is surreal to me, B2 yeah sure but C1? That’s insane

Ok so I am a native English speaker, non-US and non-EU citizen and thinking about studying medicine in Germany for next fall 2018. I have a Bachelors degree from a US university and finished 2 years of medical school in the US but had to withdraw due to personal and financial reasons.

Anyhoos I am totally new to the german language. literally only started duolingo a week ago but i am determined to SOMEHOW get up to C1 with medical terminology by the time i apply next year (am I crazy?). I heard that in order to take the language test one must show 1000 hours of study so i plan to possibly go to a language school in germany in a few weeks.