Things to do as an undergrad!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thesmartazz

Sleepy College Student
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Howdy, everyone.

I'm currently a rising junior in college, and I was wondering if there are any things that I should do now to: 1) get to know what working in public health is really like and 2) make myself a better candidate for MD/MPH combined programs. My college does have a EPH school, so I could possibly try to take advantage of some of their resources.

I am currently a biology major, so I've done a bit of research in neurobiology (what I'll be doing this summer). However, I have very little experience in public health. I think that I ideally would like to pursue some type of future in health policy. I do a lot of advocacy work for the homeless, and access to quality health care for impoverished people is absolutely abysmal (grar! :mad: ).

I guess what I'm mainly looking for is advice on what to do during the school year and during the summer. Are there any good internships that I could pursue during the summer? I'm particularly interested in doing something abroad, if possible, since this upcoming summer will be my last chance to go overseas during college. I'm also hoping that I'll be able to take a health policy course at the EPH school or at the graduate School of Management.

Thanks in advance for any help that you can provide!

Members don't see this ad.

thesmartazz said:
Howdy, everyone.

I'm currently a rising junior in college, and I was wondering if there are any things that I should do now to: 1) get to know what working in public health is really like and 2) make myself a better candidate for MD/MPH combined programs. My college does have a EPH school, so I could possibly try to take advantage of some of their resources.