Air Force the usual antidepressant question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1020355

I am a rising senior in undergrad; currently, I am applying to Texas schools for MD/DO.
3.8/506
Anyways, I began zoloft last summer (summer 2019) due to an acute episode of OCD. I had no idea that I was stuck in the OCD cycle (obsession-compulsion) until a psychiatrist pointed it out to me. Thankfully, I responded well to the SSRI and it helped me become more receptive to healing and growing stronger.
Doing research, I was enthralled by the opportunities offerred by HPSP and practicing medicine with the military. I did read about the gatekeeping against those with a psychiatric history. So, in a month's time, I discontinued my antidepressant.

Currently, I am stable. All is fine. I do feel intermittent relapses of depression, and it stings that I cannot use a simple medication to help me out. I do HIIT/lifting/running/diet. Sometimes that just is not enough. However, I remain working on goals and self-betterment.

On a different note, I share dual citizenship with Israel. There, if you have a stable/managed psychiatric history, then you will not be barred from serving. No, you will not be a combat soldier; however, you are allowed to proudly serve your country.

Question 1: If like 50% of the DoD is on an SSRI (SNRI or tricyclic), then why are incoming recruits DQ'd for antidepressant usage?

Question 2: How soon after discontinuation of an SSRI would a medical waiver be likely accepted? I have heard of people still make it through the whole process despite having used these medications way back in childhood.

Thanks for helping and hearing me out.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator: