The most important section

Rusunn

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
My Kaplan teacher told me that the most important section of the OAT is the reading comprehension. This is what the schools look most heavy upon. Is this true?

Members don't see this ad.

I heard there are 2 main subjects they look at .... reading and general chemistry

I took the OAT yesterday and did well.... I scored at 360 Total Sciences and a 340 Overall. Top 5% according to Prometric Testing. (I killed orgo with a score of 400)

However, my reading scores are only a 310! (and QR scores are low too at a 300) Im not very good at reading REALLY fast like your suppose too. I just dont see how reading 3 scientific articles as fast as you can and answering timed qestions is relevant to the profession (or life for that matter). Anyways, do you think my other scores would compensate for this lower score? I really dont want to retake it if i dont have to.

My Scores are as follows:
Total Science -- 360
Overall -- 340
Orgo -- 400
Bio -- 360
Chem -- 330
Phys -- 330
Reading -- 310
QR -- 300

You will be accepted faster than lightening. Your scores are wonderful and any optometry school would be lucky to get you. You will not have to retake it. Trust me.

Members don't see this ad :)
Your scores are very respectable, and your 400 OChem is really awesome. Don't stress too much.
-p.dot

Diffently not to wry about your scores. QR IMO was the hardest section on the OAT just because of time restraints, so dont wry about it... I personally dont think that the average score for QR will be a big determing factor (I dont expect the average for that section to be very high either).

I'm currently applying to Optometry schools (UMSL & SCO), and I'm wondering how my OAT score compares:

AA: 340
Qual: 380
Reading: 350
Physics: 320
Bio: 330
Chem: 340
Organic: 300
Total Sci: 330

Would the 300 Organic score (I took the OAT 6 weeks into Organic I) drag down an otherwise good score?