The Lifestyle of a Dermatologist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KJBS8806

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre-med student and I'm looking into dermatology. I've read lots of forums about the salary of a dermatologist and the paths to becoming a dermatologist, but I want to know specifically about the LIFESTYLE of a dermatologist.

-What is a typical work week?
-Are you ever on call?
-Do you take your work home with you or do you get to go home and relax?
-What type of a lifestyle does the salary allow?
-Any information involving the lifestyle of a dermatologist.

Members don't see this ad.

What makes you so sure about derm while you're still pre-med? You still have plenty to discover in the future about medicine...Otherwise, the experts will tell you how comfortable it is.

I am a pre-med student and I'm looking into dermatology. I've read lots of forums about the salary of a dermatologist and the paths to becoming a dermatologist, but I want to know specifically about the LIFESTYLE of a dermatologist.

-What is a typical work week?
-Are you ever on call?
-Do you take your work home with you or do you get to go home and relax?
-What type of a lifestyle does the salary allow?
-Any information involving the lifestyle of a dermatologist.

Such a bad idea.

You are looking at 4 years of excelling at the pre-med level to get into the best medical school you can get into. (I've since blocked out those horrible memories, you'll need to ask someone else for tips here)

Then you are looking at 4 years of excelling at the medical school level to even land interviews in dermatology. (At least, a great deal of derm residents need to take time off for research if not a full PhD)

-Honor as many pre-clinical courses as possible
-Do meaningful and productive research
-Ace Step 1
-Honor as many clinical courses as possible
-Get into AOA