The Decision of a Lifetime

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CrimsonSpirit

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everybody, I'm in a bit of a quandary.

I'm a Canadian student, and I got into UC Berkeley, and am planning to study pre-med. However, at the moment, I'm stuck between attending UC Berkeley or going to UBC. You see, my ultimate goal is to attend med school down in the states at either UCSF, SMS, HMS, JHU or Columbia. Are my chances, as an international student, higher if I do pre-med at UCB instead of UBC? I'm worried that my grades at UCB may be lower than my GPA at UBC, the curve up at UCB is killer, or so I've heard. Also UCB gave me no aid, so I would be paying 50K Canadian a year in the states for 4 years, as opposed to paying 50K total to for an undergrad at UBC.

The main reason I want to go to UCB is because I heard that it was easier to get into a top-notch medical school in the US, as a Canadian, at least. But after going through all the threads, I realized that its pretty darn difficult to get into med school. period.

So my question is: is it worth it for me to cough up 160K to go to UCB, and would my chances of getting into a top-tier US med school as a Canadian increase having graduated from a more pretigious college in the states?

Members don't see this ad.

CrimsonSpirit said: