The Berkeley Review - CARS Book

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sneaky Sloth

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

So I am studying for the MCAT right now obviously and I am currently using the The Berkeley Review (TBR) CARS book and I wanted to get some past user's experience with it.

I do about 9 passages a week to mock the section on test day. However, I am getting consistently wrecked on these sections getting only about 29-34 questions correct on 5 different tries. I am not sure what's going on, and it is really discouraging.

How have you guys done on the TBR CARS section and how did this compare to the actual MCAT CARS section? I know the CARS section can be very difficult for most students, but I didn't think it would be like this.

Members don't see this ad.

TBR cars is trash I used TBR for every other section though. Use testing solutions 30 day guide which can be found on SDN along with TPR hyperlearning, the old ek verbal book, and AAMC material. I had to take the MCAT twice and using these resources, especially the 30 day guide, brought my score from 41%tile on my first take to a 93%tile on my second.

Members don't see this ad :)
The TBR CARS book can be a bit all over the place in terms of difficulty. Some passages are loaded with easier comprehension questions while others have numerous inference questions. I'm still bothered by the passages that provide supplemental information in the answer explanations. The whole point of CARS is that all the information is in the passage. My recommendation is to use the book to practice your CARS skills on argumentative passages and don't worry about your score.