Termination from residency based on allegations of unjustified access to PHI

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neissin

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi! I was an intern in a program in US. I received a termination letter from my PD saying that i had accessed charts of patients i was not treating. A few weeks earlier, i was notified by my program that IT had detected that charts of 5 patients were accessed from my account in a span of 10 minutes. I explained to them and also in a meeting with IT that I did not do anything as such, and have no idea how this could have happened from my account. They made it appear at that time as if they just wanted to see what went wrong and what could be done to prevent this in future. Never i imagined of a termination.
I had the option of internal appeal, which i did go through. And they just decided to uphold the decision. I got an employment lawyer while making the appeal, which wasn’t of much help.
I do not know how to go about from here. Being on a J-1 visa, and from talking to the immigration lawyers, it seems like I do not have any visa options of staying in US (I want to, because my wife is training here, on J-1 as well) except if I go back and apply for B1/B2 or a J1 research. With my visa being annulled, i feel my chances of getting any visa would be minimal. Even if I do get a visa and apply for a residency this fall, being accused of misconduct and terminated would make my chances of matching into any program or residency negligible. We IMGs spend 2-3 years going theough USMLEs and match, even if i plan for some other country like Canada, UK or Australia, i am worried if all this eill affect my chances there. Do you guys recommend I apply in US or not waste time and try for other countries? If the latter, which one would be the easiest and shortest, if any idea.