teaching for kaplan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

qaztake82

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
has anyone been a teacher for kaplan and if so, did you like the job, how demanding was it, did you have to remember everything that you studied. I am thinking about doing it but I studied for the test two months ago and I cant say that i remember all the details of the review materials so if the class isnt very structured then I think that I may run into questions from students that I wouldn't know off hand. Any input would be nice thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

I finished the training a few months ago and am going to start my first class in September. Kaplan wants you to pretty much teach only what is in the Teacher's Edition of their manuals, and anything else they want you to discuss with the students outside of class if you've got the time. You could get away with not knowing everything. It's kind of like teaching "on rails," in that you won't stray far from the topic at hand. In other words, it's highly structured.

The problem is when you have students who ask lots of questions. :) I teach anatomy for another job, and believe me, it is REALLY uncomfortable to have to say, "I don't know," "I don't know," "I don't know," over and over again, or to say something that's flat out wrong and be corrected by a student. If you don't know the material, this is bound to happen.

I ran into a friend of mine this summer who was taking Kaplan's course, and he said everyone in his class had a hard time with the teacher because he seemed to barely know anything and constantly said, "I don't know." I think they may have let him go because of bad evaluations.

So, even though you're basically teaching on rails, it's probably in your best interest to know the material extremely well.

qaztake,