Taking the DAT before Ochem?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

McNelly

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I graduated last spring with a degree in Accounting. Worked for 4 months and I absolutely hated it. I always went back and forth on Dentristry-PA-PT-Accounting, but chose accounting because of the amount of schooling (I know, dumb, but at the time I was only worried about college athletics).

I have not started any science pre reqs yet and I planned on getting them done as soon as possible ; this January, summer, and then the fall if possible. My biggest concern is I’m 23, and im not really trying to wait an extra two-three years for dental school which is why I was hoping by some miracle I could apply this cycle. I have shadowed a dentist, and I have set up more time dates with him so that I can get atleast 100 hours, and I currently have 100 hours of volunteer work.

With all that being said would it be smart for me to take the DAT before Ochem? The university I’m going to only offered Ochem2 in the spring (which will be my first semester of pre reqs). I was thinking I could potentially find a guide DAT prep course, +YouTube and hopefully self teach myself as much as possible for the DAT. That way I can take the DAT at the end of this spring semester, apply in June and have a chance for this cycle?

Members don't see this ad.

1. How will you knock out all your pre-reqs in just 1 year? That doesn’t seem possible. You may have to go at least 2 to get them all.

2. If you don’t have a science background, Ochem is probably one of the more difficult sciences (at least for many at my school it was). It would be hard to teach yourself that stuff, but that’s just my opinion.