Taking a summer academic/vacation trip to Egypt, need advice frm Egyptians plz

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NinaGucci

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
:) Hello everyone (especially Egpyptians),
Im a Canadian med student and i have applied for a summer school in tropical medicine prog at Cairo university (I think the school is called Kasr el something....) which will be followed by a great tour of all the country...exciting...
However..i wanted to have some questions about life in Egypt...before i go and get a cultural shock!...
1/ I think we're supposed to stay in a 3 stars hotel in the capital...but..how hygienic are 3 stars hotels in Egypt...i know that in some poor countries..under 5 stars are totally neglected...so..do u think it's a safe and decent place to stay?
2/ Dress code...I've never been to Egypt before...but i know that the population there might have some specific requirements for female dress codes...i am muslim by religion..but i dont really dress like religious muslims (veil..etc)...and as my trip will be in August...i dont want to wear some shocking clothes...although i dont necessarily wear tight things or short skirts even here in Canada...but what might seem normal to me, might be not normal to the population there...i do have a lot of respect for all muslim people and i want to know exactely what is suitable there...(im sorry to be such an ignorant girl! lol)
3/ Do you have any advice on decent places to visit in Cairo...or good restaurants...i know we will be taken in charge by the students there..but i want an external advice as well...Do you also have any advice on what we should avoid (places where 3 ladies can be harrassed for example lol) or anything else...
4/ Anyone knows anybody who did this programme before? (I guess if u re a med student at Cairo uni and into the student life..especially activities with IFMSA Egypt..)..to tell us about his/her experience...