T-minus 8 months... what do I need to do?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

VaultArmitage

import pandas as pd
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

First off I apologize for what is going to be a long post. I’m planning on applying to an MD/PhD program next cycle with the goal of being complete by June 2021. With my time starting to run out to add new activities and bolster my application I wanted to get advice on what I need to be focused on in the coming months to maximize my chances of an MD/PhD acceptance. I’m a current junior planning to graduate in April 2022.

Stats:
Major: Bioinformatics
Minor: Computer Science
cGPA: 3.98
sGPA: 3.94
MCAT: haven’t taken yet obviously, but I am studying for it now and plan on taking it mid May 2021
Research: I started spring of my freshmen year. 2000hrs total to date with another 400 hrs anticipated before applying in June. Full time research over summer 2021 anticipated. My research is split between two labs one focusing on bioinformatics (tool development, machine learning for biomedical applications, etc) and the other is a traditional wet lab focusing on heart development. I’ve had one poster presentation at a national conference, and I’m currently working on a first author paper to be sent out for review in January (fingers crossed!!), I’m also helping write a paper in which I’ll be a mid-author that should be sent out around the same time. My research interests are in computational biology and the usage of big data to facilitate diagnosis and patient care. Specifically I hope to get involved in cancer research (my summer 2021 will be focused on cancer research)

ECs:
- certified fluent in Spanish with an “Advanced” rating by the ACTFL
- 2 years of volunteering on an acrobatic dunk team that travels each week to elementary schools to put on a dunk show and talk about the importance of eating right, exercising and not bullying.