Switching to Psychology from a pre-med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DancingDO

Reaction score
Hello Everyone! A bit of a long post ahead:

I'm not sure if a similar thread has been posted before but I am a student that switched from being very pre-med focused to psychology. I have always had an interest in Psych but never looked seriously into it as a career until I started working at a Pain clinic as a medical assistant. Working with patients that constantly deal with pain and seeing how it affects them mentally made me realize gain a lot of interest. I am really interested in studying behavioral and neurological changes that come with pain and prolonged opiate use. Another area of interest is the gut-brain axis!

Some background:
Undergrad: BS in Microbiology and a minor in Human Development and Family Sciences (Graduated 2021)
2.5 years of research experience in a Microbiology lab with a Poster presentation and an Assistantship award.
Volunteered at multiple clinics throughout undergrad.
Founder and President of a chapter of MannMukti, an organization that focuses on South Asian Mental Health Awareness. Held leadership positions in various other organizations.
Have not taken the GRE yet (plan to pretty soon)
GPA: pretty low (3.2), minor GPA is around 3.5

From the research I've done so far and considering my GPA, I assume doing a Masters's would be the safest bet. I enjoy research and want to do research in the future but I do primarily want to do clinical work and value interaction with patients that goes beyond therapy (I would like to do testing and neuro analysis); therefore I want to eventually pursue a PhD or PsyD in Clinical Psychology (most likely with an emphasis on Neuropsychology).