Surviving sepsis: Question from a student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Josh1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a medical student and have some (possibly stupid) questions about the surviving sepsis guidelines:

1. I don't understand the blood transfusion aspect: Suppose the patient has a normal hematocrit, won't this be overtransfusion? We are already assuming they're on 100% O2 I suppose.

2. I actually don't understand what SvcO2 measures, What are the normal values? Is the low SvcO2 saying that when it's that low the tissues are extracting so much oxygen you need blood even though your hematocrit might be fine?
Actually that whole arm of the surving sepsis guidline is somewhat confusing as to the reasoning behind it (why are inotropes the next step?)

If someone could walk though this for me (I mean by explaining the reasoning behind each step) it would be a great help. Thanks for helping me out!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I'm a medical student and have some (possibly stupid) questions about the surviving sepsis guidelines:

1. I don't understand the blood transfusion aspect: Suppose the patient has a normal hematocrit, won't this be overtransfusion? We are already assuming they're on 100% O2 I suppose.

2. I actually don't understand what SvcO2 measures, What are the normal values? Is the low SvcO2 saying that when it's that low the tissues are extracting so much oxygen you need blood even though your hematocrit might be fine?
Actually that whole arm of the surving sepsis guidline is somewhat confusing as to the reasoning behind it (why are inotropes the next step?)

If someone could walk though this for me (I mean by explaining the reasoning behind each step) it would be a great help. Thanks for helping me out!