Surgical intern with PA taking chief call

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Logano2230

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a current intern at a university program and a handful of times this year my "chief" who I would call over night has been a PA or NP. While I understand there needs to be a buffer between attending and intern I'm wondering if I'm wrong to bristle at having someone with less medical training and education be my lifeline. Is this just my ego or would you feel resentful too?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I'm a current intern at a university program and a handful of times this year my "chief" who I would call over night has been a PA or NP. While I understand there needs to be a buffer between attending and intern I'm wondering if I'm wrong to bristle at having someone with less medical training and education be my lifeline. Is this just my ego or would you feel resentful too?

That sounds like a crappy setup. However, realize that while you have more medical education as an intern, you have less clinical experience and essentially no training yet. The real issue is why don't you have senior residents instead of APPs?

Reactions: 4 users
It's admittedly pretty rare that an APP is "chief" but occasionally happens. True, I have only ~7 months of inpatient experience beyond medical school; I wonder then what level of training an APP would equate to in most people's minds. PGY3? Medical residents are almost done with training at that level.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
I disagree that there "needs" to be a buffer between intern and attending....."there usually is" doesn't mean it's necessary

Reactions: 6 users