Surgery Post-STEP Reality Check

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedStudent7857

Reaction score
Hey Everyone! I am a current MD student starting a research year between MS2 and MS3 (matching with Class of 2024). I took STEP about a month ago and scored a 241 which was pretty close to my target of 245. I am interested in Vascular Surgery or Otolaryngology (leaning ENT) and have research activity (2 -3 publications each) in both specialties as well as 4 -5 current projects where a publication can be expected in the next year during my time away from medical school classes / rotations.

I want to acknowledge that I will need to do well on STEP 2 seeing that my cohort will be mostly P/F for STEP 1 thereby leaving the screening to STEP 2. However, my main question is whether my STEP 1 score will be a net benefit for matching into either of these specialties, essentially neutral, or potentially a hinderance? Second, with STEP 1 out of the way, what can I do to maximize my chances of matching into one of the two specialties in the 2024 match? I believe my application will be strong research-wise with multiple publications and grant-funded research. I am at a large, state medical school (Top 20 NIH funded) with robust home programs for both specialties. Thank you to anyone that can provide input!

Members don't see this ad.

Hey Everyone! I am a current MD student starting a research year between MS2 and MS3 (matching with Class of 2024). I took STEP about a month ago and scored a 241 which was pretty close to my target of 245. I am interested in Vascular Surgery or Otolaryngology (leaning ENT) and have research activity (2 -3 publications each) in both specialties as well as 4 -5 current projects where a publication can be expected in the next year during my time away from medical school classes / rotations.