Surgeons with Herniated Discs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ALTorGT

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a medical student considering surgical residency as a career option. I herniated my L5/S1 disc 2 years ago. The pain initially was referred to my left posterior thigh, the upper 2/3rds. But after physiotherapy and anti inflammatory medication, the pain is more chronic lower back in nature. I have my bad days when there is some referred pain in my trochanteric area. Basically, I have a stiff back, can flex beyond 20 degrees from the vertical and sitting down for extended periods is a hassle.

I know one needs good physical fitness and a strong back for surgery. How will this affect me, especially if I choose to pursue something like orthopedics. What surgical specialities should I consider staying away from and what should I definitely consider as likely alternatives. Anything I can do to minimise risk of further disc rupture from here on in like wear a back belt or something like that?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Disc's can easily be fixed. It takes about 4-6 months to fully recover. Im not a doctor so you should talk about it with a surgeon. I know that my dad once had 2 hurniated disc's, and they were removed. This was about 5 years ago, and after the operation he has got back in bikeing, running, swimming, watersking, and other sports. Though he may be just lucky as the doctors told him his time of doing sports would be very limited after the operation, but everyone is ok know except for the odd morning stiffnes.

Originally posted by aric_taylor2000
Disc's can easily be fixed. It takes about 4-6 months to fully recover.

This is an overly optimistic statement.