Suny Downstate info

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrBean09

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi i was just wondering if anyone can give me info about downstate... i was accepted and most likely will attend this fall (ia) i just wanted to know if it is a good school or if i should attend umdnj-njms where i was already accepted but probably wont attend due to fam commitments and out-of-state tuition [btw im a ny resident.] id appreciate advice from current downstate students in particular... i've checked all over sdn and cannot find downstate students threads so any info at all would help (schedules, professors, parking, student life etc) thanks a lot :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,
Lucky you caught me being lazy. I usually don't check the studentdoc boards, but I'm a MS1 at SUNY Downstate right now. As an overview, Downstate is a great school for those who are independent and know they will like the city. We have system based learned, eg Head and Neck, Musculoskel., Cardiovascular. Which means, you learn all the Physio, Anatomy, and Histo at the same time. There are plus and minuses, sometimes it can get a little confusing, but overall it's a plus IMHO because we only have block exams. Meaning one big exam for each subject. We don't have a gruellng marathon of exam week and a half like RWJ (i know bc my college room mate goes there) just one big exam every month. We also have spring break! But RWJ gets out earlier.