Summer Research Grants for Medical Students

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gabujabu

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello. I was wondering if anyone knows if there are summer grants for medical student research (after M1 year) in any of the following areas:

1) Cardiovascular Medicine
2) Pharmacology
3) Biomedical Informatics
4) General Medical Student Summer Research Grants

So far, I've only found one summer grant from the American Heart Association. Thanks a lot!

Members don't see this ad.

Take a look at the summer research listing link in the FAQ. I believe there's something in NY. The AMA also supports summer grants for CV research.

Hello.I'm a french medical student and I will have the equivalent of a Medical Degree at the end of the year (June 2008).I would like to have a (bio)medical research experience in the USA this summer to benefit my future medical carrer.So I was wondering if anyone knows if there are summer medical grants opened to students/doctors who study out of the USA???
Thanks a lot for your answer:)

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello.I'm a french medical student and I will have the equivalent of a Medical Degree at the end of the year (June 2008).I would like to have a (bio)medical research experience in the USA this summer to benefit my future medical carrer.So I was wondering if anyone knows if there are summer medical grants opened to students/doctors who study out of the USA???
Thanks a lot for your answer:)
A lot of our programs are funded by federal dollars, and so they probably will have some stipulation that you must be a US citizen to apply. However, you can probably email US docs individually and set up something on your own. It won't have the glamour or the structure of a formal program, but it is one way to get US research experience. Most of the visiting researchers I've met used this method.