Suggestions for networking with schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JAK2-STAT3

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

After seeing the importance of networking with schools stressed over and over on here, I’m looking for suggestions on how to actually do this for the schools I’m most interested in. Do I email schools and say “hey, I want to go here is there somebody I can talk to?” Do I ask to be connected with current students? Do I ask for a meeting with an Adcom? I’m a non-trad and my undergrad does not have AMSA.

If anyone has successfully done this I’d be curious to hear what you did. It feels pointless because these schools have so many good applicants but I have some geographic preferences and want to try.

Members don't see this ad.

It never hurts to try to network, but it's definitely not as important to getting accepted as SDN makes it out to be, so don't stress over it if you don't make it very far.

Reactions: 2 users
On the contrary, it is important but it doesn't give you a payoff with offers. What it does give you is a chance to not sound like every other premed applicant because you will have done homework on whether the marketing is really true. Relationship building is also a fundamental skill that dictates your longer term success in working with patients, getting a residency, or finding a research opportunity. Being an engaged applicant will make you stand out, especially if you come from an underresourced background.

There are many stories from students who wished they had known something about a school that has given them reason to question accepting their offers.

I give hints of my tips throughout the WAMC, but let's start off with an obvious task: have you made a calendar of the various recruitment events and open houses of the schools you wish to attend over the next three months?

Last edited:
  • Love
Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)