Subclavian lines

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NDcienporciento100

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a surgery Intern going into IR. And I am coming here with a small grievance.... someone I plead with you please someone tell what is the obsession with surgeons and subclavian lines!?!?!?! In my short time as an intern I have seen so many pneumo’s oh, and mean while a perfectly good ultrasound is two feet away waiting to let you slip that needle into the IJ like buttaa! For the love of humanity and modern technology please stop!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hmmm, this may be specific to your program or the service you are currently on. I tend to use SCLs more frequently in trauma, because the patient often needs a c-collar, and/or because it can be placed in two seconds in the chaotic trauma bay when necessary without using US. (Though depending on location of GSW, femoral might be preferred. We do a lot of ED thoracotomies, and you don't want to dump PRBCs directly into an injured vessel.). Likewise, in any emergent setting, sometimes SC is preferred to perform quickly if an US isn't available.
Maybe your co-residents just want extra practice with SC placement, particularly if they're managing to bag the lung as frequently as you suggest!

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hmmm, this may be specific to your program or the service you are currently on. I tend to use SCLs more frequently in trauma, because the patient often needs a c-collar, and/or because it can be placed in two seconds in the chaotic trauma bay when necessary without using US. (Though depending on location of GSW, femoral might be preferred. We do a lot of ED thoracotomies, and you don't want to dump PRBCs directly into an injured vessel.). Likewise, in any emergent setting, sometimes SC is preferred to perform quickly if an US isn't available.