sub-average scores on mid-term evaluation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Uhl88

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, currently I am an internal medicine intern at a fairly prestigious academic program. recently I received a sub-average score on my outpatient clinic evaluation and therefore made me develop some unwanted worries and thoughts about my future. I don't know about you guys, but we use a 5 point system, where 3 is average, 2 is below average, and 1 is requiring urgent intervention. I haven't received much feedback at all from any of my attending and/or my residents, but the few I have received have been pretty positive. The outpatient evaluation rated my performance as 2/5, commenting my presentation can be disorganized and my clinical decisions are still in development. This really messed with my self-esteem and confidence, only making me more paranoid and anxious during presentation. Any advise on how I should go about this? and how common is to receive such "bad" evaluation during residency? Thanks for the input.

Members don't see this ad.