Studying Habits Normal Or Abnormal?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goldentreasure

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a junior in college.

Organic Chemistry I / Lab
Physics I / Lab
Calculus
Abnormal Psychology
Developmental Psychology

I'm in class 9AM-6PM almost every day. I have organic lab twice a week and physics lab once a week. I have 3 typed lab reports due every week, and pre labs due, as well as online chemistry, online math homework, written math and written physics homework and assignments for psychology (easy). Outside of that I'm studying. Studying/homework is pretty much from 6PM-12AM every day. Friday my last class ends 2PM and I stay in the library until almost 10PM. And 30+ hours on the weekend I get up at 9AM and close my books at around 6PM both Saturday and Sunday. I study for organic, physics and calculus every day and do practice problems every day. The issue is I feel like I work harder than everyone else for subpar grades. I have to prepare 2 weeks prior to an exam and do practice every day and sometimes even doing that I don't achieve the grade I feel like I deserve. If I get my exam back I blame myself and I isolate myself even more and study even more. It's just a constant cycle.

By the end of the day I am so exhausted. I feel like I don't have a life. I feel really isolated and alone all I do is study in the library all day. Weekends I hear people getting ready to go out and here I am in my room studying. At the end of the day all I do is play on my phone for about 30 mins go to bed and do it over again.

It's reached the point I have no friends. Absolutely none because I've isolated myself so much. And it bothers me because for all the work I put in studying 2 hrs for each class every day I should be getting As but I'm not.

And people in my classes love to brag about studying the night before and getting good grades.