Studying during R1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Steve_Zissou

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I’m going to be starting my R1 year here in 3 or so months and was hoping to hear about peoples approaches to studying during residency and how they would have changed things.

I’ve heard/read a broad swath of opinions including “start with CTC” to “don’t read CTC and stick to H&B.” I’ve heard “study one hour a day” to “study as much as you possibly can.”

Thoughts on approaches/resources to use?

Members don't see this ad.

I studied as much as I possibly could. I never read CTC, B&H, or Core. I looked everything up on Radiopaedia and journal literature search and made Anki cards.

Reactions: 1 user
Just read the relevant chapter in core radiology and do radprimer questions. I also supplemented with ACR case in point and aunt minnie case of the day for approximately 1 year starting in mid R1. I wouldn't stress about the hours per day, but try to get through all of the Core radiology section per 1 month rotation and make a dent in radprimer. You can save CTC and intermediate radprimer for R2 and beyond.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hey all, I’m going to be starting my R1 year here in 3 or so months and was hoping to hear about peoples approaches to studying during residency and how they would have changed things.

I’ve heard/read a broad swath of opinions including “start with CTC” to “don’t read CTC and stick to H&B.” I’ve heard “study one hour a day” to “study as much as you possibly can.”

Thoughts on approaches/resources to use?
Most important thing is to develop a system that is somewhat consistent. Don't go the whole year without studying, but don't study yourself to death.