Study Abroad Credit

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

idunnowhattonamemyself

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a pre-dental student in Texas, and was wondering if anyone had studied abroad and how the credits transferred and were calculated into your overall GPA.

While abroad, I would be taking classes for my business minor or a Spanish minor. There are two types of programs available at my university.

The first one is an exchange program, which is a reciprocal exchange agreement with a foreign university that allows our students to attend that university as if it were their home institution. This means that all course credits and grades will transfer back to my university, with the grade and show up on my transcript. I would still be paying tuition to my university but will be attending another school abroad.
The second option is doing an affiliate program; an affiliate program is a third party that my school has an agreement with. This option seems more appealing to me because it is a program so housing, food, cultural excursions, program activities, etc are all included so I wouldn't have to do everything on my own. Pertaining to credits, all courses will transfer back, so I will receive credit for them, but only as transfer credits; this means that it won't affect my GPA on my university transcript.

My main question is if anyone has experiences with either of these? I really do want to do a study abroad for one semester, but I want to know how this would affect my GPA when it comes to applying to dental schools. For example, if I were to do the affiliate program where my GPA is not affected, will dental schools still calculate the GPA from that university or not? And, I am assuming dental schools will count the exchange program grades into my GPA, considering it is already on my transcript from the university?

Any other advice, experiences, or tips would be greatly appreciated!