Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gheist009

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I was wondering about community college credits. I can do my first 2 years of bachelors degree for biology at my community college then transfer over and finish my 4 year degree.

My question is how many credits is enough? or Too much to be accepted into medical school.

My GPA is 3.8

Members don't see this ad.

I Mean that I am taking classes towards my biology degree in a community college, I can do the 2 years there than transfer over to a four year institution. My question is, will it affect my acceptance into a medical school?

Members don't see this ad :)
I think the only issue with community college is that adcoms don't like to see you do all your pre-reqs at a community college. I think if you take some upper-level science courses at the university, though, you should be fine.

Granted, I'm no expert on the subject.

Try not to take your prereqs at a CC. 2 years is a lot... enough to do all your prereqs there, which I hope you're not doing. A lot of med schools don't accept CC credits, and I'm guessing all med schools prefer credits from an accredited 4-year institution over a CC.

What do you mean your GPA is 3.8? Are you in hs? From the wording of your question, it sounds like you haven't gone to any college yet.

Hello,

I was wondering about community college credits. I can do my first 2 years of bachelors degree for biology at my community college then transfer over and finish my 4 year degree.

My question is how many credits is enough? or Too much to be accepted into medical school.

My GPA is 3.8