stoopid...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

markneil

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
greetings,

im an incoming med student and have been pretty fascinated with surgery (esp ENT). i have two stupid questions concerning surgery in general.

1. i have a fear of someone just driving that needle in my finger (accidentally) or being cut. is this a fear that i should obliterate from my mind...does it happen often?

2. i'm 5'8''...do i need to stand on one of those stools? i just hate the idea. i'm totally comfortable with my height, but the stool is just crossing the line...

again, two stupid inquiries...

Members don't see this ad.

As the demotivator says, "There are no stupid questions, but there are a lot of inquisitive idiots."

First, needle sticks happen. Doesn't matter where in medicine you are. Obviously there is higher risk in surgery than in radiology, but the potential is there. In ENT, I can say from experience that the most likely place to get stuck is when wiring some drunk's mandible in the middle of the night. Those wires suck. Just know that if you double-glove the risk is enormously low.