Army Stipend pay after commissioning

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doctor_okay

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am new to the reserves (MDSSP) and don't know much about what is going on past the benefits. I have read a few posts and it has only increased the amount of questions I have. I started my process in January 2019 and I just commissioned (raise right hand, I _______solemnly swear, etc.) on June 5th, 2020. With all paperwork supposedly submitted by my recruiter on June 8th, 2020.

My questions:
  1. How long did it take everyone to get their stipend pay after commissioning (roughly how many weeks or months)?
    • Because I'm in a tight spot financially and it would be very nice to get my hands on that stipend pay as soon as possible. I commissioned on June 5th 2020, and it is July 19th, 2020 and I am still waiting.
  2. I feel as if I do not get a lot of information through my recruiter. I was wondering if there was another way I can get information about things that are going on with my application without going through my recruiter?
  3. Since I commissioned in June and not after July 1st will I be responsible for an additional year even though out of the 1st 6 months of the year I will only be paid for the June?
    • For example, in my case, I have 3 more years of school (Fall 2020 till Spring 2023). I commissioned in June of 2020. Will I be responsible to pay back 7 years or 6 years?

Thanks everyone.

Members don't see this ad.

Are you sure you were ready to sign up? Delays are the normal in the military. Expect months to get simple problems answered.