Step 2?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

axm028400

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,
I am a DO student who will be applying to mid tier level psychiatry programs for 2011. I am preparing for step 2 of COMLEX and am wondering if I should take the USMLE step 2 as well. I took both the comlex and usmle and scored slightly above average on the comlex and got a 202 on the usmle (step 1). I am probably in the top 1/3 of my class (gpa around 3.5), and have numerous extracurriculars. Any insight would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I would love to hear what DOs psychiatry residents in MD residency programs think about this (or any resident, for that matter). However I am in a slightly different situation. I did not take USMLE Step 1, only COMLEX and I am wondering if it would be helpful to take USMLE Step 2.

PGY-1 DO in Psychiatry program here. I ONLY took the COMLEX I and II and scored in the low to mid 600's on both. I initially applied to only 5 programs (mid-tier university settings), all of which I received interviews from within 3 days of submitting ERAS. One week later, I added another 5 programs, all again, mid tier and received interviews from each within a week. Feeling slightly confident and now three weeks into the app process, I applied to 8 more competitive programs (Ivy's etc.) and received 3 more interviews. I went on to apply to about 5-7 more safety programs, in which I received 3 more interviews. I felt very fortunate to receive all of these interviews. I attended 12 in all, mostly in the NY/NJ/PA region. I had three very strong LOR's from psychiatrists. I also have a very specific interest in the field of psychiatry. Overall, I think with a reasonable COMLEX II score alone, you can be successful in the application process.