step 1 score cutoff for derm?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goodies

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
what is the minumum step 1 score you should have to feel decent about applying into derm?

Members don't see this ad.

what is the minumum step 1 score you should have to feel decent about applying into derm?

Forget about cut-offs. If you want to do it, go for it and sink your heart and soul into it even if you got a 183 on step 1. Those who are truly driven can land a spot in any field, regardless of their numbers.

i just got my board score, so i just was wondering what a reasonable minimum score would be to apply into derm

Members don't see this ad :)
When I was a second year med student, a ucla faculty member told me they had a cut off for interview of 230. May have changed since then, but i think over 230 you should make it pass most cut offs. Hope that helps.

but that doesnt mean you are in, or that you will get an interview, they look at a ton of other stuff before making either of those decisions... it just means that they will actually look at that other stuff (if it is a true cut-off), my PD doesn't make it sound like it matters if you get a 235 or a 265........ as long as it is above "decent" b/c there are so many other things about the applicant that they consider... congrats on finishing step I and welcome to 3rd year!

i guess i made the cut off then... but barely! i'm no superstar like long dong:p

i'm assuming different schools have different cut offs... what would you say ucla's cut off is? 245 and no shot if not aoa?

i guess i made the cut off then... but barely! i'm no superstar like long dong:p

i'm assuming different schools have different cut offs... what would you say ucla's cut off is? 245 and no shot if not aoa?

I'm no superstar just lucky to have matched.