This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SD2525

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So usually I don’t do this but I’m in dire need of help and thought I would turn to you all for advice. This is a little long so bear with me.

I’m currently in my first year of family medicine residency (about 5 months in) and I don’t like it. It’s not even my program or the people I work with. It’s the fact that I feel that I have been living a lie my entire life. I have always listened to my parents and they always pushed me and forced me into medicine. Since I was a child I have always been good at science, but better at taking tests and doing well in school then actually critically thinking. Even before I was about to go into medical school I remember sitting down with my parents and telling them that I had this gut feeling that I didn’t want to go to med school but I didn’t know what I wanted to do. They pretty much said well if you don’t know what you want to do then you better go to med school. So pretty much like the rest of my life I just brainlessly listened to them and began med school. From the first year I was already having thoughts of not wanting to be in medicine anymore. However, I continued.

I never found medicine interesting nor did I have the curiosity to ask the question “why?” I did not find it fascinating. I kept having this internal struggle of continuing being in medicine vs. feeling like my life just doesn’t feel like my own. I felt like a prisoner in my own life. Like I’m trapped.

Everyday it just keeps growing…that feeling that something just doesn’t feel right with me. The problem is that I really don’t understand or get medicine, I don’t have any desire or drive to study it, and I already have this gut feeling that it just isn’t for me. All I know is that I hate this feeling and it keeps growing deeper and deeper.