Specializing as an international student trained in US dental school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

csAlmost

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am currently a D3 attending an accredited US dental school. As you may have assumed from the title, I am an international student who has no US citizenship nor a green card. I was wondering if anyone knows if I will have any limitations in applying to specialty programs. I am specifically interested in ortho, also contemplating pedo. I know that UCLA doesn't accept international students, as its website says you must be a "US citizen, US permanent resident, Canadian citizen or your status as an H-1B visa holder, and your eligibility to work in the United States." I am still a F1 (student visa) so I know I can't apply to UCLA. But most other schools I have tried searching for do not seem to have these specific limitations stated on their websites. I was trying to find cases like mine online, but to no avail – So I am hoping that someone could shed some light on this matter for me. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user