Some Advice: Cornell Weill or Columbia P&S

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedMan3

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I am deciding between both schools and I was wondering if current students or anyone would care to share their thoughts or adivce about each school or both.
Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

congrats MedMan3,
both schools are excellent choices.

i'm currently a 3rd year at cornell, and have to say that i am still enjoying my time here immensely. before med school i was a teacher in nyc for a few years so i've been interested in issues of education, and cornell does a pretty good job at most things, with the caveat that one has to be really motivated and a self-directed learner, to do well here.
and all in all, reflecting on my time at med school, it's been a pretty humane experience.

though everyone is different, here are some reasons i chose to come to cornell:

1) in terms of clinical settings
The New York Hospital - Top notch. The "New York" in "New York-Presbyterian Hospital." state of the art facilities in almost every respect.
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center- consistently 1 or 2 in the country
Hospital for Special Surgery - tops in the country for orthopedics
The Rockefeller University - 20 nobel laureates - pretty good for this "small" institu. also, really beautiful campus/library/dining area, esp. in spring and fall!

all these amazing institutions are literally joined at the hip, being right across the street from each other. one ID badge gets you access to all these places.
an example: