Software engineering in FAANG to medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sleepysorts

Reaction score
Hi all!

I've been a software engineer for about 5 years now since graduating college, with almost all my time spent at one of the large tech companies (FAANG). I have a promotion under my belt and very solid compensation. However, I have lost the passion for building technology long ago and have been mostly guided by inertia in my career. I am 100% sure I do not want to continue down the path of staying as a software engineer or climbing the engineering management ladder.

A few years ago I started having odd medical problems that was only recently diagnosed as a very rare genetic disorder. While frightening, I spent many hours a week reading through research papers and texts related to my disorder during this turbulent time and found myself incredibly interested in the subject matter. The entire process has got me questioning whether medicine would be a good alternative path for me to consider. I always had an interest in medicine from a young age, but switched focus to computer science due to good employment prospects and a knack for coding.

Now for the bad news: my cGPA is somewhere in the 2.8-2.9 range (with a strong upward trend: lots of D/Fs my first year and then A's/B+s my last few years). I majored in computer science, so I would have to enroll in some sort of post-bacc program to satisfy the prerequisite requirements for applying to medical school. Assuming I do well, I would be able to bring my cGPA and sGPA above a 3.0, which is better but still a very, very low GPA for medical school.

I wanted to see if anyone here has had a similar path, or can provide some wisdom on how I should move forward?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: